Taylor and Tommy got married | Black Wedding Dress | Savannah Elopement Photographer

Every Wedding Photographer has a few things they just really REALLY want to shoot at least once, and a wedding with a black dress has been on my list for about 5 years now.  When I was going over the details a month ago, I saw that Taylor had a black wedding dress listed in her details, and I got excited, and started planning.  I’ve done quite a few weddings at her venue (The Gastonian), so I knew the layout of the place and where to shoot, but I was a little concerned about time.  Taylor had me for 2 hours and I really wanted more, so I told her I’d just show up a little early, and if we went over a bit, it would be okay with me (hint, hint).  So I got there a little more than an hour early and stayed 30 minuted late so I could do everything I wanted with off camera flash, get all the details, and get plenty of what I like to call Photojournalistic portraiture (Everything is very posed, but for maximum flattery without looking posed), and Taylor was happy to be posed within an inch of her life, and I’m incredibly happy with what we got.  🙂

Tommy’s a very down to earth guy.  Very attentive, very affectionate, and very in love!  Rather than have a big affair in Louisville, KY, they decided to elope in Savannah, GA at The Gastonian.  Taylor had a surprise for him I’m not (because I promised I wouldn’t) sharing here, but it was a surprise that took some work on her part, and she pulled it off wonderfully.  Taylor is an incredibly beautiful bride, but more than that, she’s very kind and very open, with a personality and heart that outshines her appearance.  I’m happy for them both, and I’m grateful they gave me the opportunity to document their wedding day and get all the details to my heart’s content.  🙂

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

Traditional shot for a nontraditional dress.

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

Shooting a black wedding gown is no different than shooting a traditional gown, but care has to be taken with the exposure to make sure the details in the shadows are captured rather than the highlights.

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

The waist ribbon on this gown is a strong feminine accent.

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

I love the fabric florals in this black wedding gown giving it a ton of texture depth.

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

The fabric layers in the bodice and waist of the gown are a welcome departure from a plain front, making for a beautiful transition to the fuller material.

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

Traditional shot for a nontraditional dress.

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

I also like to have the rings in the boxes from the jeweller for two reasons. First, unique jewelry showing the jeweller’s name is easily captured, and second, ot just makes for a great shot option for wedding albums later.

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

I like combining the wedding rings with other details, in this case I chose the beautiful bouquet from Garden on the Square because the red really pops in an otherwise stark setting.

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

The wedding shoes are silver, adding the flowers in the background adds a little bit of pop to the image.

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

How beautiful is that engagement ring?!?! The bride opted for two wedding bands so everything fit together with her gorgeous engagement ring.

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

Bridal photography should be a part of every wedding. By starting early, you have the chance to get some “perfect” images displaying you in your gown in an ideal setting.

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

Did I mention that I love her wedding dress?

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

Capturing a bride in a window shouldn’t look unnatural or contrived. The best shots are flattering to her figure, and highlighting the bride, her gown, and her nature naturally.

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

I love Love LOVE window shots with the bride because it’s so easy to really push the dynamic range of images in a flattering and realistic way.

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

Bridal portraiture isn’t unnatural, it’s quiet, flattering, and easy.

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

I love shots that show more than one detail. In this case, it’s the flowers and the rings, while showing the nature of the couple and their affection.

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

I really don’t like the obviously posed shots showing the bride and groom’s rings with a hand held out in a fist to get both rings on the same focal plane. For this shot there’s minimal adjustments, it feels and looks natural, and accomplishes the same thing.

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

The Gastonian has a beautiful courtyard and secondary courtyard that I love shooting in. Unless it;s the middle of the day, direct sunlight is never an issue and it’s not dark. There is a ton of beautiful landscaping and the fountain to also use as background, foreground, or mid ground.

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

The Gastonian’s front steps are also a beautiful photo opportunity.

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

The wrought Iron fencing around the front of the Gastonian’s property is a great location allowing for more creative shots while still observing basic compositional rules. A beautiful bride and groom don’t hurt either!

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

I’m not really a sun flare photographer, but I got one at the bride’s request because a happy bride makes for a happy photographer.

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

The Gastonian has a pretty cool elopement package including florals, a small cake, and champagne.

Savannah Elopement at The Gastonian Inn Bed & Breakfast

The Gastonian has a pretty cool elopement package including florals, a small cake, and champagne.

Venue-  The Gastonian Inn (Bed & Breakfast)

220 E Gaston St  Savannah, GA 31401
(912) 232-2869

Florist- Garden On The Square

39 Abercorn St  Savannah, GA 31401
(912) 233-7227

Jeweler- Ashcroft & Oak

4801 Outer Loop, Louisville, KY

(502) 966-6000

More details coming soon…

One thought

Leave a Reply

