It’s been raining a lot lately… | Savannah Photographer

I’ve always loved rain.  No idea why.  Maybe it’s that the colors pop a little more vividly with the gloss of water on them.  Or maybe it’s because I’m used to seeing the world dry, so seeing it wet is new and revealing and different.  But it’s been raining a lot, and combined with thunder and lightning, I’ve been spending an inordinate amount of time indoors.  That’s great for catching up on tasks, but not so great for production.  Great for introspection and pondering, not so much for practice though.

Savannah Photographer

Makes me want to go play in it to be honest…

I’ve also been catching up on my blog reading, and got a great one here that really resonated with me.  I’ve been intensely working on improving my photography for 6 years now.  From seeing a setting and envisioning the possibilities in it, to capturing it creatively within the camera, to editing it afterwards to put it in the best possible rendering.  There is very little finished product of 5-6 years ago that I’m proud of, but I do like to go back and re-edit occasionally because I did get some great fine art captures, and the technology and methodology for editing I use now are far superior to what I was doing back then.  If you’re a photography buff and shoot RAW format, I suggest you do the same.  You’ll be pleasantly surprised.  But back to the blog…

In photography, you’re only as good as your next shot, your next assignment, your next project, and the results you get from it.  I love getting notifications or “likes” on my facebook fan page  from stuff done in 2009, 2010, and so on, but like the old Virginia Slims add copy, I’ve come a looong way, baby.  In some ways, demand is the most objective benchmark to quality and value.  If demand is higher, the service is better or more valuable or more relevant.  I’m leaps and bounds ahead of where I was 5-6 years ago, but demand is similar (more related to marketing than anything else I suspect).  I’m not really doing a lot more than I was back then, but I am getting a lot more ooohs and ahhhhs than I was, and the respect from others in my chosen field has increased as well.  And as grateful as I am for the accolades and attention, my own progress and improvement is my greatest motivator.  I doubt I’ll ever be content with what I get.  I’m addicted to getting better every time I pick up a camera body.  Every image I edit, I’m constantly thinking about what I could have done different to make it better, and taking notes in hopes that it sticks.  Jeff Goins says every week he starts from zero, and we all do.  Every week I have a higher bar or loftier goal though, and I’m despairing when I haven’t achieved it.  The days of the easy improvements in 2006 and 2007 are far behind me.  But every week I’m still starting from zero.

This week I did a Shrimp and Grits Recipe shoot for Broadway & Thresher (facebook here), and here’s one of the images I liked, though culled for some reason or another.

Savannah Food Photographer- Lone Pine Photography

For Broadway & Thresher, but from the cull pile…

By the way, did you know Terrence Trent D’Arby is still alive and kicking, and still producing beautiful music?  He’s doing it his way, all his his way, and independently.  Take a listen…

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7TOGmYtave0&w=560&h=315%5D

If you need photography, please let me know.

Email: Luke@lonepinephotography.com

or call (912) 547-9080

Leave a Reply

